On Treasure.

Treasure Planet will always be a special movie to me. I watched it first a very long time ago, when I was rather little. Maybe 10 years old. I liked it for a few reasons. I had just recently read a comic version of Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island, on which this movie was loosely (but also surprisingly thoroughly when not loosely) based. I also fell in love with this idea of building upon a story. I used to think of stories as immutable objects that were told. After this, I made up my own stories set in worlds that I had read about. Or invented worlds for characters I liked. I don’t think I can go so far as to say my love of science fiction stems from this movie, but it sure didn’t hurt!

The movie didn’t do too well at the box office, or so Wikipedia tells me. It’s a pity really. The story is quite good, both the original and what they’ve done with it. It has two of the best songs ever. Tangent:

I’m Still Here, and Always Know Where You Are. Those are the two songs. The first plays over a montage that shows Jim and Silver bonding like father and son, and the second plays over the credits. I fell in love with these songs the instant I heard them. I wanted so badly to listen to them again, but I was young and this was before I knew about the internet. So I used to wait for the Disney channel to air the movie. I watched it every single time it did. After my fifth or sixth viewing, I thought I would record it. Mother had just got herself a fancy (by 2003 standards anyway) phone with a camera that takes videos. So I recorded the end credits one time. It was awful. I loved it. I listened to that racket for hours on end.

When I did find out about the internet, I still didn’t know I could get these songs. I didn’t know what they were called. I don’t think I knew what Wikipedia was. So one time, while I was in an Internet cafe for no real reason, I googled “treasure planet songs” until I found a website where I heard it playing. I was so happy. I didn’t know how or even if I could download it. I just listened. It sounded so crystal clear and perfect.

These songs have played quite important roles in my life. They sum up so many emotional events so succinctly. Even their titles invoke such deep memories — I’m Still Here. Whenever I mean that, when I talk to someone, I capitalise those words.

Why am I writing about this? I just watched it again. For what is probably the fifteenth time ever, but the first time in years. And I’m currently looping over the montage with I’m Still Here.

Nostalgia. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

